Laboratory for Surface Modification (LSM)


Congratulations to Eva Andrei, Karen Rabe and David Vanderbilt, all LSM affiliated, who were all elected to the National Academy of Sciences. This is one of the highest honors an American scientist can achieve.
April 2, 2015

The 29th Annual Symposium of the Laboratory for Surface Modification was held Thursday, April 2, 2015. A total of 14 contributed talks and 24 posters were presented. In addition there were Highlight Presentations by Prof. Antoine Kahn (Department of Electrical Engineering, Princeton University) entitled "Electronic Structure of Hybrid Organic Inorganic Perovskites Interfaces" and Dr. James B. Hannon (Carbon Electronics, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center) entitled "Imaging Strain-Driven Surface Evolution with LEEM." Please help us congratulate H.-H. Kung who won the Theodore E. Madey Student Award for Best Oral Presentation with his talk entitled "Chirality Density Wave of the "Hidden Order" Phase in URu2Si2" describing work performed under the supervision of Prof. Grish Blumberg. The best student poster, entitled "Characterization of LiFePO4 Cathode Nanocrystals by STEM/EELS Analsyis" was presented by Joseph Schneider-Haefner based on work performed under the supervision of Prof. Frederick Cosandey. The student awards consist of a certificate and a prize of $300.

We look forward to a similarly outstanding collection of student presentations at next year's Symposium.