Laboratory for Surface Modification (LSM)

The mission of the Laboratory for Surface Modification is to provide a focus for research in basic and applied studies of high technology surfaces and interfaces.

LSM Searching for Senior Experimentalist

The Laboratory for Surface Modification has an opening for an experimental scientist with exceptional credentials for a faculty appointment at the full professor level.

Please click here for a more detailed description of the position.

New Microscopes Make Rutgers World Leader

Rutgers is now the only university in the world that's home to both a scanning transmission electron microscope and a helium ion microscope. The microscopes help researchers develop nanotechnology used to fight cancer, generate power, and create more powerful electronics. Watch them at work.

Please click here for the video.

New State-of-the-Art XPS Facility at the LSM

The LSM is pleased to announce that it has expanded its suite of sophisticated surface analytical capabilities with the opening of a new, state-of-the-art X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy facility capable of determining surface and near-surface elemental and chemical composition with micon-scale lateral resolution and atomic-layer depth resolution. The facility greatly expands our ability to probe surfaces, interfaces, thin films and nanostructures of interest in a wide range of fields including microelectronics, novel photonics, molecular magnetics, nano-catalysis and biomaterials.

This million-dollar facility for research, education, and training, is comprised of two new instruments manufactured by Thermo Scientific and is housed in the NanoPhysics Laboratory, home of the LSM, on the Busch Campus. Major funding for this acquisition came from a combination of a National Science Foundation Major Research Instrumentation (NSF-MRI) grant, matching contributions from the central administration and the Institute for Advanced Materials, Devices and Nanotechnology (IAMDN), and a substantial contribution from the LSM itself. One instrument, the K-Alpha, is highly-automated with extremely user-friendly data acquisition and analysis software that is intended for high-quality sample analysis that may be run by the user on a routine basis. The second instrument, the ESCALab 250 Xi, is an extremely powerful tool designed for incisive fundamental studies of surfaces and thin films. The ESCALab is also equipped with additional analytical techniques including ultraviolet photoemission (UPS), ion scattering spectroscopy (ISS), electron energy loss spectroscopy (EELS), as well as sample heating and cooling. This machine is directly attached to a separate ultrahigh vacuum sample preparation chamber that will enable the combination of in-situ surface modification and sample analysis.

The new facility will be the centerpiece of a cooperative relationship between the LSM and Thermo Scientific that will include scientific exchange and collaborations for research and education. The site will also be used for instrumentation demonstrations and instructional workshops.

For more information about these instruments can be found at the following link LSM XPS Facility. For training and access information, contact the LSM XPS Facility Coordinator, Ryan Thorpe (, the Director of the LSM, Prof. Torgny Gustafsson (, or the LSM Administrative Assistant, Gwen Chupka (

March 28, 2014

The 28th Annual Symposium of the Laboratory for Surface Modification was held last Friday, March 28, 2014. A total of 35 posters were presented. In addition there were Highlight Presentations by Prof. John Silcox (Applied and Engineering Physics, Cornel) entitled "What Could the New NION UltraSTEM Mean for Rutgers and the Scientific Community?", Dr. Ondrej L. Krivanek, FRS (Nion Company) entitled "Advances in Electron Microscopy: Instrumentation and Software", Professor Stephen K. Burley (Center for Integrative Proteomics Research, Rutgers) entitled "Informal Remarks on the Intersection of Proteomics and Microscopy", Dr. Maureen Lagos (Institute for Advanced Materials, Devices and Nanotechnology, Rutgers) entitled "Attosecond and Femtosecond Forces Acting on Gold Nano-sized Particles Induced by Relativistic Electrons", Dr. John Notte (Director R&D, Carl Zeiss Microscopy LLC) entitled "A Cartoon Guide to the Helium Ion Microscope", Dr. J. Albert Schultz (Ionwerks INC) entitled "Finding and Characterizing Metal Nanoparticulates in Biological Tissues" and Dr. Samir Shubeit (Institute for Advanced Materials, Devices and Nanotechnology, Rutgers) entitled "Ion Beam and Helium Microscopy Study of Brain Tissue Implanted with Ag Nanoparticles for MALDI Applications."

Please help us congratulate our own Meng Ye who won the Theodore E. Madey Student Award for Best Student Poster entitled "Dynamical Magnetic Charges and Linear Magnetoelectricity" describing work performed under the supervision of Prof. David Vanderbilt. The other Best Student Poster, entitled "Nanotechnology-Based Approaches to Control Stem Cell Neuro-Differentiation" was presented by Shreyas Shah of the Chemistry and Chemical Biology Department, based on work performed under the supervision of Prof. Kibum Lee. The student awards consist of a certificate and a prize of $300.

We look forward to a similarly outstanding collection of student presentations at next year's Symposium.